The Pi-Rate Ratings

August 1, 2022

SEC PiRate Football Game

Filed under: PiRate Football Game — Tags: , , , , , , , , , — piratings @ 9:10 am

Hello out there to all the Southeastern Conference football fans. The long-awaited SEC 1960-1979 edition of the PiRate College Football Game is now on sale.

To order the game, go to:

Do you want to coach one of these teams?

1973 Alabama: The Tide offense rolled on the ground with their wishbone clicking on all cylinders, but the incredible passing game that led the nation in yards per completion and per attempt with Richard Todd and Gary Rutledge directing the attack, made this offense close to unstoppable.

1970 Auburn: Pat Sullivan really earned his Heisman Trophy in his junior year with much better overall passing stats than the following season when he actually got the award. Sullivan to Terry Beasley put a lot of touchdowns on the board.

1966 Florida: Steve Spurrier won the Heisman Trophy, while powerful running back Larry Smith kept defenses honest. Spurrier also punted and occasionally booted some field goals, including one important one that probably cemented his winning trip to the Downtown Athletic Club.

1971 Georgia: Local high school star Andy Johnson chose to stay home for college, and he ran the veer offense about as competently as any QB in the history of college football. Georgia didn’t pass a lot, but they moved the ball on the ground and ate the clock. The Junkyard Dog defense was tough against the run, especially plays run wide.

1977 Kentucky: The last Division 1 college team to run a full-house T-formation offense as their principal alignment, this Wildcats’ team played power football with strong-running QB Derrick Ramsey rolling out and usually keeping the ball. The defense was the real star of the show, as Art Still made life miserable for the other team’s QB.

1961 LSU: Coach Paul Dietzel believed this team was actually more talented than his 1958 national champions, but unfortunately, LSU didn’t play Alabama this year, and the two rivals split the SEC Championship.

1962 Ole Miss: Johnny Vaught was a legend in the quarter century following WWII. His teams were noted for wide open offense and a defense that limited the other team from having big plays. This was his lone undefeated and untied squad, and this Rebels’ team picked up a couple of national championship awards.

1963 Mississippi State: The Bulldogs’ defense was near the top in the nation in points and yards allowed, even though their schedule was also among the toughest in the nation. The Maroon Bullies upset a top-5 Auburn team and tied SEC Champion Ole Miss in the Egg Bowl, before winning the last Liberty Bowl game played in Philadelphia.

1970 Tennessee: The Vols went 11-1 including a shutout win over Alabama and a blowout win i the Sugar Bowl over Air Force. This team intercepted an incredible 36 passes to lead the nation by far.

1974 Vanderbilt: Former Alabama QB Steve Sloan came to Vandy and immediately turned the program around, going 7-3-2 in his second year in Nashville and fielding the number one offense in the SEC. Vandy’s big win in 1974 was a thrashing of undefeated and #5 Florida.

Blog at